The UK Climate Resilience Programme ran from 2019 to 2023

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) provides strategic advice to the Programme Board to support the programme objectives. In particular the Steering Committee should provide advice and recommendations to the Programme Board on:

  • Alignment with cross-government departmental priorities
  • User engagement and programme impact
  • Opportunities for complementarity with other initiatives, both nationally and internationally
  • Effective ways of research co-ordination and coherence
  • Proposed scope and scientific content of calls and directly commissioned research
  • Appropriate ways to monitor and evaluate the progress of the programme towards its purpose and goal


The current membership of the SPF UK Climate Resilience Steering Committee is:

Professor Jim Hall, University of Oxford (Chair)

Professor Albert Klein Tank, Director Met Office Hadley Centre

Alex Hicks, Welsh Government

Andrew Carr, DEFRA

Ben Smith, ARUP

David Mallon, The Scottish Government

Professor Frank Kee, Queen’s University

Professor Georgina Endfield, University of Liverpool

Dr Harriet Orr, Environment Agency

James Convery, DAERA NI

Jason Lowe, Met Office 

Dr Joanna Teuton, NHS Health Scotland

John Early, DAERA NI

Jonathon Gascoigne, Centre for Disaster Protection

Dr Kate Lonsdale, University of Leeds (co-Champion)

Kristian James, Public Health Wales

Professor Lindsay Beevers, Heriot-Watt University

Professor Nick Pidgeon, Cardiff University

Professor Paul Bates, University of Bristol

Richard Millar, UK Climate Change Committee

Professor Rowan Sutton, University of Reading /National Centre for Atmospheric Science (NCAS)

Dr Sari Kovats, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Suraje Dessai, University of Leeds (co-Champion)

Dr Tom Russon, Scottish Government